Working Groups

NAIPI Working Groups come from volunteers among the National Committee members and NAIPI at large.  In 2014 and 2015, NAIPI President Dr. Carolyn Hovde Bohach created four important Working Groups: Best Practices, Data Collection, Governmental Relations, and NAIPI website.

 

BEST PRACTICES WORKING GROUP

 

The charge for the NAIPI Best Practices Working Group is to:

  1. Determine a format(s) to gather and categorize IDeA Good Practices
  2. Determine a mechanism to disseminate IDeA Good Practices
  3. Develop an orientation packet for new IDeA-funded investigators

 

Members of the Best Practices Working Group:

 

Danny Dhanasekaran, Ph.D., Chair
COBRE Principal Investigator (Oklahoma)
danny-dhanasekaran@ouhsc.edu

 

Barb Goodman, Ph.D.
South Dakota INBRE Principal Investigator
barb.goodman@usd.edu

 

Scott (Sam) Minnich, Ph.D.
Idaho INBRE Program Coordinator
sminnich@uidaho.edu

 

Steven Fiering, Ph.D.
New Hampshire INBRE Program Coordinator
steven.fiering@dartmouth.edu

 

Mark Smeltzer, Ph.D.
COBRE Principal Investigator (Arkansas)
smeltzermarks@uams.edu

 

William Steven Ward, Ph.D.
COBRE Principal Investigator (Hawaii)
wward@hawaii.edu

 

 

DATA COLLECTION WORKING GROUP

 

The charge for the NAIPI Data Collection Working Group is to:

  1. Determine what data NAIPI should be collecting that NIH is not collecting in the Annual Progress Reports
  2. Determine the various data collection methods being used by everyone
  3. After the various methods are determined, suggest how NAIPI best coordinate data from each state to make our collective successes most visible
  4. A long rage goal may be to devise a user-friendly format that would be open for everyone to use, if they desire

 

Members of the Data Collection Working Group:

 

Lucia Pirisi-Creek, M.D., Chair

South Carolina INBRE Principal Investigator

luciapirisicreek@gmail.com

 

Carolyn Hovde Bohach, Ph.D.

Idaho INBRE Principal Investigator

cbohach@uidaho.edu

 

Robert (Scott) Seville, Ph.D.

Wyoming INBRE Program Coordinator

sseville@uwyo.edu

 

Krishan Arora

Program Officer

NIGMS

National Institutes of Health

arorak@nigms.nih.gov

 

Linda Liou

Idaho INBRE Program Manager

lioul@uidaho.edu

 

 

GOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS WORKING GROUP

 

The charge for the Government Relations Working Group is to:

  1. Enhance the visibility of the IDeA Program (one of NAIPI’s specific objectives)
  2. Interact with Van Scoyoc Associates through the EPSCoR/IDeA Foundation and Coalition
  3. Develop mechanisms to educate NAIPI membership about the connection between federal/state government and the IDeA Program
  4. Facilitate information flow from IDeA Program successes to decision-makers and from ‘inside the Beltway’ to the membership

 

Members of the Governmental Relations Working Group:

 

Konstantin (Gus) Kousoulas, Ph.D., Chair

COBRE Principal Investigator (Louisiana)

vtgusk@lsu.edu

 

James Kenyon, Ph.D.

Nevada INBRE Principal Investigator

jlkenyon@medicine.nevada.edu

 

Douglas Wright, Ph.D.

Kansas INBRE Principal Investigator

dwright@kumc.edu

 

Ex-Officio Members

 

W. Fred Taylor, Ph.D.

Chief, Capacity Building Branch

NIGMS-TWD-CBB

National Institutes of Health

taylorwf@mail.nih.gov

 

Rafael Gorospé, M.D., Ph.D.

Program Director

NIGMS-TWD-CBB

National Institutes of Health

gorospejr@mail.nih.gov

 

 

NAIPI WEBSITE WORKING GROUP

 

The charge for the NAIPI Website Working Group is to:

  1. Determine needed content for website
  2. Oversee design and development of new website.

 

Members of the Website Working Group:

 

Carolyn Hovde Bohach, Ph.D., Chair

Idaho INBRE Principal Investigator

cbohach@uidaho.edu

 

Konstantin (Gus) Kousoulas, Ph.D.

COBRE Principal Investigator (Louisiana)

vtgusk@lsu.edu

 

Lucia Pirisi-Creek, M.D.

South Carolina INBRE Principal Investigator

luciapirisicreek@gmail.com

 

Whitney Myers

Idaho INBRE Admin.

whitneym@uidaho.edu