National Committee

PEOPLE_NATIONAL COMMITTEE_Student-Banners-Furman-2

NORTHEASTERN REGION

INBRE #1      James Coffman, Ph.D., INBRE PI
Term:  May 2016 – December 2020
Associate Professor
MDI Biological Laboratory
jcoffman@mdibl.org

 

INBRE #2      Zahir Shaikh, Ph.D., INBRE PI
Term:  January 2016 – December 2019
Professor
Director of the Center for Molecular Toxicology and RI-INBRE Program
The University of Rhode Island
zshaikh@uri.edu

COBRE #1     Margaret Karagas, Ph.D., COBRE PI
Term: January 2016 – December 2019
James W. Squires Professor and Chair, Department of Epidemiology
Professor of Community and Family Medicine
Director, Children’s Environmental Health and Disease Prevention Research Center and Center for Molecular Epidemiology
Dartmouth College
Margaret.Karagas@dartmouth.edu

 

CTR #1     Stuart A. Binder-MacLeod, Ph.D., PT, CTR PI
Term: January 2017 – December 2020
Edward L. Ratledge Professor
Associate Deputy Provost for Clinical and Translational Research
PI and Program Director, Delaware-CTR
University of Delaware
sbinder@udel.edu

 

COBRE #2     Dean R. Madden, Ph.D., COBRE PI
Term: January 2017 – December 2020
Professor of Biochemistry
Director of Dartmouth COBRE Institute of Biomolecular Targeting
Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
drm0001@dartmouth.edu

SOUTHEASTERN REGION

INBRE #1       José Rodríguez-Medina, Ph.D., INBRE PI
Term: January 2017 – December 2020
Professor and Chair of the Department of Biochemistry and Nutrition
Principal Investigator – PRINBRE Program
University of Puerto Rico Medical Sciences Campus
jose.rodriguez123@upr.edu

 

INBRE #2       K. Gus Kousoulas, Ph.D., INBRE PI
Term: January 2017 – December 2020
Asst. Vice Chancellor for Research and Economic Development
Professor, Virology and Biotechnology and Veterinary Medicine
Director, Division of Biotechnology & Molecular Medicine
Principal Investigator, Louisiana Biomedical Research Network
Louisiana State University
vtgusk@lsu.edu

COBRE #1     Lesly Temesvari, Ph.D., COBRE PI
Term: January 2017 – December 2020
Alumni Distinguished Professor
Director of Eukaryotic Pathogens Innovation Center
Clemson University
ltemesv@clemson.edu

 

COBRE #2      Mark S. Smeltzer, Ph.D., COBRE PI
Term: January 2014 – December 2017
Professor, Department of Microbiology & Immunology and Department of Orthopaedics
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
smeltzermarks@uams.edu

 

COBRE #3      Stephen B. Pruett, Ph.D., COBRE PI
Term: January 2017 – December 2020
Department Head, Department of Basic Sciences
PI, Center of Biomedical Research Excellence in Pathogen-Host Interactions
Mississippi State University, College of Veterinary Medicine
pruett@cvm.msstate.edu

CENTRAL REGION

INBRE #1       Barbara E. Goodman, Ph.D., INBRE PI
Term: January 2016 – December 2019
Professor of Physiology, Division of Basic Biomedical Sciences
Sanford School of Medicine of The University of South Dakota
barb.goodman@usd.edu

 

INBRE #2       Darrin R. Akins, Ph.D., INBRE PI
Term: January 2017 – December 2020
Associate Dean for Research, College of Medicine
President’s Associates Presidential Professor
Director, Oklahoma INBRE Program
University of Oklahoma College of Medicine
Darrin-akins@ouhsc.edu

COBRE #1      Mark McCourt, Ph.D., COBRE PI
Term: January 2017 – December 2020
Professor, Department of Psychology
Director, Center for Fisual and Cognitive Neuroscience
North Dakota State University
mark.mccourt@ndsu.edu

 

COBRE #2      Danny N. Dhanasekaran, Ph.D., COBRE PI
Term: January 2014 – December 2017
Professor, Department of Cell Biology
Deputy Director for Basic Research
Director, Center for Basic Cancer Research
University of Oklahoma College of Medicine
Danny-dhanasekaran@ouhsc.edu

 

COBRE #3      David Pearce, Ph.D., COBRE PI
Term: January 2016 – December 2019
President of Research, Sanford Health
Senior Scientist, Children’s Health Research Center
Professor, Department of Pediatrics
Sanford School of Medicine of the University of South Dakota
David.Pearce@sanfordhealth.org

WESTERN REGION

INBRE #1      R. Scott Seville, Ph.D., INBRE PI
Term: January 2017 – December 2020
Principal Investigator, Wyoming INBRE
Associate Dean in the Outreach School
Professor of Zoology and Physiology
University of Wyoming
sseville@uwyo.edu

 

INBRE #2      Josh Baker, Ph.D., INBRE PI
Term: January 2017 – December 2020
Director, Nevada INBRE
Associate Professor
University of Nevada School of Medicine
jebaker@unr.edu

COBRE #1     Julia Oxford, Ph.D., COBRE PI
Term: January 2017 – December 2020
Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
Director of the COBRE in Matrix Biology
Boise State University
joxford@boisestate.edu

 

COBRE #2     Mark Quinn, Ph.D., COBRE PI
Term: January 2014 – December 2017
Professor of Pharmacology
Montana State University
mquinn@montana.edu

 

COBRE #3     C. William Shuttleworth, Ph.D., COBRE PI
Term: January 2016 – December 2019
Regents Professor, Department of Neurosciences
Director, Brain & Behavioral Health Institute
University of New Mexico
bshuttleworth@salud.unm.edu